Thursday, October 7, 2010

Vargas Llosa wins Nobel prize for literature

Vargas Llosa wins Nobel prize for Literature for the year 2010.

Congratulations.He is teaching at Princeton University in New Jersey.He is Peruvian born and his life experiences have been reflected well in his writings.At times he had alienated the powers in Peru.

Other times he had alienated his friends and writers by criticising their politics.At one time he was considered a communist sympathiser and others as anti communist.Currently he is considered someone with anti communist tendencies so it was a surprise announcement of the Nobel committee to announce his selection for the prize.Nobel committee is considered to be a house of left leaning people.

So his writings will go to the top of the carts and Charts.

1. Time of the hero
2.Green house (name of brothel)
3. Conversations in a Cathedral( name of a bar)
4. Aunt Julia and the script writer(based on his marriage to Julia Urquidi and dedicated to her)TO which she responded by her own memoir called "What little Vargas did not say"The novel was made into a film Tune in tomarrow.
5.War of the end of the world ( an historical novel)
6. Real life of Alehandro Mayta
7.Who Killed Palomino Molero (¿Quién mató a Palomino Molero
8. The Feast of the Goat (La fiesta del chivo)
9.The Bad Girl (Travesuras de la niña mala), which journalist Kathryn Harrison approvingly argues is a rewrite (rather than simply a recycling) of Gustave Flaubert's Madame Bovary

No comments:

Post a Comment